Meet with Human Resources

Need to meet with a Human Resources Representative?

Human Resources has been and continues to be open to serve employees.  Human Resources staff are available by phone, virtual (Teams or Zoom), and in person (as necessary for special circumstances within social distancing guidelines). Please directly contact the representative you would like to consult with to schedule a meeting as the office is closed to walk-in traffic. The HR representative will assist you with determining the best way to assist and the appropriate protocols. 

Human Resources Staff

Jenifer Owenson- Executive Director (515) 964-6408  jsowenson1@dmacc.edu
Administers the functions of the HR department including personnel, benefits, payroll, professional development, policies & procedures, and collective bargaining

Jim Casey- Associate Executive Director (515) 964-6256  jacasey@dmacc.edu
Coordinates and oversees Professional Development, New Faculty Orientation, Job Evaluation and disciplinary/grievance investigations. 

Beth Andersen- Coordinator, Adjuncts and Personnel (515) 964-6620  meandersen1@dmacc.edu
Review course approvals for adjunct instructors and screen applications for minimum qualifications for regular faculty and staff positions. Coordinates employee performance evaluations.

Jean Ballard- Administrative Assistant 3 (515) 964-6301  jeballard1@dmacc.edu
Serve as the general receptionist for HR. Assist with questions and process employment actions for adjunct faculty, temporary employees, student and work study students.

Laura Butler- Payroll Assistant (515) 965-6035 lrbutler@dmacc.edu
Review submitted time reporting and serve as a resource for employee questions about payroll and deductions.

Anndrea Courtney- Payroll Specialist (515) 964-6616 arcourtney@dmacc.edu
Responsible for reviewing, verifying, and inputting all data related to adjunct credit and non-credit pay, faculty overload, faculty sabbatical leave, substitute pay, and leave usage of regular staff teaching adjunct classes during the day. 

Carrie Haefner- Compliance Officer (515) 964-6288  cahaefner@dmacc.edu
Review college policies, procedures, handbooks, and collective bargaining agreements to ensure internal consistency and compliance with state and federal laws. Coordinates annual salary increase process and issue contracts/employment agreements. Coordinate compliance training.  

Kim Lacey- Director, Employment (515) 964-6439 kalacey@dmacc.edu
Direct the hiring process for all positions and determine starting salaries for regular employees. Conduct Affirmative Action Review.

Denise Lundberg- Coordinator, Technology Orientation & Development (515) 965-7341 delundberg@dmacc.edu
Assist departments in developing technology training to support ongoing development for employees. Develop strategies and goals for employee orientation program.

Tiffany Marlow- Benefits Specialist (515) 964-6258 tlmarlow@dmacc.edu
Facilitate and process information for employees regarding FMLA, Long Term & Short Term disability and Life Claims. Coordinate and process Workers’ Compensation claims. Coordinate employee Tuition Waiver and Dependent Child Tuition Remission process.

Gloria Neppl- Benefits Coordinator (515) 964-6372 gjneppl@dmacc.edu
Coordinate and manage all benefits for employees.  Coordinates insurance plans, leave information and serves as the HIPAA Privacy Officer.

Becky Parks- Personnel Systems Specialist (515) 964-6479 rmparks1@dmacc.edu
Assist in the employment recruitment and hiring process for regular employees; process employment actions for regular employees. Understand and operate HR databases, applications and software systems.

Kay Ruggiero- Director, Payroll (515) 964-6287 ksruggiero@dmacc.edu    
Direct the process and balancing of payroll. Direct tax administration and compliance of payroll.