The Prairie Trail Scholarship

​​​​​​The Prairie Trail Scholarship is a unique opportunity to benefit students in the Prairie Trail Development. The purpose of the Prairie Trail Scholarship is to provide scholarships to students pursuing a higher education beyond high school. The fund, established through the generosity of Dennis & Susan Albaugh, demonstrates the family's commitment to education and to the community of Ankeny.

Scholarship awards are available to residents and dependents of property owners of the Prairie Trail Development. Selected recipients will be eligible for a maximum lifetime award of $10,000. Students attending Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) are eligible for a maximum lifetime award of $12,000. The scholarship is distributed in increments of $2,500 per year ($1,250 for two consecutive semesters). Students attending DMACC receive $3,500 per year ($1,750 for two consecutive semesters). Preferences will be given to students who attend DMACC, or an accredited two or four year educational institution in Iowa.

Funding for the scholarship program is generated by a 1/2 of 1% fee on the transfer of all real property within Prairie Trail. The Albaugh Family has committed $100,000 as the initial deposit into the fund. As real estate begins to transfer in this area, the fund will become self-sustainable.

Application Information

2017 Scholarship Recipients

2017 Scholarship Recipients

Pictured from L to R: Sydney Downing, Zachary McKee, McKaylin Noltensmeier, Jonah Plummer, Olivia Slater, Blaine Hawkins, Alyssa Parker, Dennis Albaugh (Prairie Trail developer), Rob Denson (DMACC president), Leah Hill, Raegan Moeller, Kelly Lindaman, Brett Guy, Sarah Gubbels, Zane Johnson. 2017 Prairie Trail Scholarship recipients not pictured: Joseph Cardamon, Kelly Current, Renee Gookin, Hannah Johnson, Brooke Osburn, Chelsey Stephenson, Darian Swinehart, Collin Urquhart.​

Message from Dennis Albaugh | Visit Prairie Trail

Apply Today