Advising and Counseling

​​​​​​​​​How to Reach Us

AdvisorsSchedule an appointmentEmailPhone
Patty Harrison https://calendly.com/pjharrison1pjharrison1@dmacc.edu ​515-370-3441​​
Shelby Hildreth https://calendly.com/sdhildreth​​sdhildreth@dmacc.edu​515-207-9413
Alexis Atkinson
​aratkinson@dmacc.edu​515-663-6703​
Jocelyn Kovarik https://calendly.com/jrkovarik​ ​jrkovarik@dmacc.edu​515-992-0864
Erin Neumann http://calendly.com/eaneumann ​eaneumann@dmacc.edu​515-635-1222
Brett Putz ​bputz1@dmacc.edu​515-433-5213

CounselorsSchedule an appointmentEmailPhone
Rebekah Burhenn
https://calendly.com/rdburhenn
​rdburhenn@dmacc.edu​515-635-1210
Rita Davenport
https://calendly.com/rldavenport ​rldavenport@dmacc.edu​​515-992-6575
 

​The academic advising service is designed to assist students in planning educational programs, setting goals and meeting graduation requirements, developing academic skills, and using the resources of the college to meet educational needs. Additional assistance is offered in selection of a transfer institution and in the transfer of credits. The value of a degree, diploma, or certificate program is explained.

Professional counseling services are provided to students by the college to assist students in career planning, educational planning and in solving problems of a personal nature. Counselors help students to make decisions and to plan for a successful future. Counselors help students choose educational programs and career directions, recommend and interpret career and interest inventories and assessments, examine mid-career options, discuss anticipated academic difficulties, and develop an appropriate course of study.

Students who experience difficulty or dissatisfaction with their curriculum are encouraged to make use of the counseling services to explore options or an alternative course of action. Counselors can also provide assistance with developing satisfying personal and social relationships, solving academic-financial problems, working through a crisis, and making referrals.

Boone Campus Student Services office may be contacted at 800-362-2127 (number 6​ on the menu) or 515-432-7203.

 

Joined DMACC in 2010

AS, DMACC

BS, Iowa State University

Joined DMACC in 2018
AA, DMACC
BS, Iowa State University
MSW, University of Northern Iowa
Trauma-Informed Care Specialization
Joined DMACC in 2002
BA Central College
MSE University of
Wisconsin-Platteville
Additional studies:
Summer Institute for
Intercultural Communication

Joined DMACC in 2008

AA, DMACC

BS, Iowa State University

MA, University

Northern Iowa

Post grad,

Drake University











Joined DMACC in 2005
BS, Briar Cliff University
in Health, Physical Education
and Recreation.
Additional studies:
Morningside University
Joined DMACC in 1999;
AA, DMACC;
BA, Upper Iowa University​









Joined DMACC 2019
BA, Iowa State University
MS, Kansas State University
 ​
Joined DMACC in 2020













​​