Jasper County Career Academy

The Jasper County Career Academy opened in 2009 and provides high school students the opportunity to earn both high school and college credit for courses taken through the program. The program was created in partnership with participating school districts in Jasper County, including; Baxter, Colfax-Mingo, Lynnville-Sully, Newton, and Prairie City Monroe. School districts outside of Jasper County are also welcome to participate in the Career Academy programs.

Programs available through the Career Academy:

  • Auto Collision
  • Building Trades/Finish Carpentry
  • Business Administration
  • Certified Nurse Aide Training
  • Criminal Justice
  • Culinary Arts
  • Health Occupations
  • PLTW - Digital Electronics
  • Teacher Academy
  • Welding

Registration Form

PDF - Registration FormDownload Registration Form

Programs Available

Automotive Collision Technology
This program introduces students to the highly technological industry of Auto Collision and Repair.
Course # Course Name Credits
CRR150Basic Shop Safety1
CRR325Sheet Metal Fundamentals5
CRR101Sheet Metal Welding2
CRR841Principles of Refinishing5
CRR742Estimating Theory2
CRR202Plastic Repair3
CRR760Advanced Estimating2
CRR877Refinishing Applications7
Building Trades/Finish Carpentry
This program allows students to engage in experiential learning in the areas of Construction and Carpentry.
Course # Course Name Credits
CON333Materials/Construction Theory5
CON336Care/Use Hand/Power Tools1
CON337Construction Blueprint Reading1
CON346Concrete Systems & Forming4
CON338Materials Takeoff1
CON341Construction Drafting & Design2
CON334Construction Techniques7
Business Administration
Course # Course Name Credits
BUS148Small Business Management3
BUS102Intro to Business3
BUS185Business Law I3
ACC131Accounting I4
FIN121Personal Finance3
SDV115Study Strategies2
Criminal Justice
The Criminal Justice program introduces students to criminal law and crime scene investigation and prepares them for entry into the criminal justice field.
Course # Course Name Credits
CRJ100Intro to Criminal Justice3
CRJ109Theories of Interviewing3
CRJ141Criminal Investigation I3
CRJ107Survey Criminal Justice Agencies3
CRJ195Crime Scene Investigation4
Culinary Arts

Through hands-on experience, you will learn the scientific principles used in food preparation, the hospitality industry, plus fundamentals of dining and sanitation.
Course # Course Name Credits
HCM143Food Preparation 3
HCM144Food Preparation Lab I3
HCM152Food Preparation II2
HCM153Food Preparation Lab II2
HCM100Sanitation & Safety2
Health Occupations
This year-long program will provide students the opportunity to explore careers in healthcare and work toward CNA training.
Course # Course Name Credits
HSC102Emergency Care1
HSC105Survey of Health Careers1
HSC109Intro to Health Careers3
HSC120Medical Terminology3
HSC172Nurse Aide 75 Hours3
HSC182Advanced Nurse Aide3
Project Lead the Way
Course # Course Name Credits
NET145Digital and Computer Elect. Lab3
Teacher Academy
The Teacher Academy provides students with an opportunity to exploreeducation-related professions and take part in real-life teaching experiences.
Course # Course Name Credits
EDU213Intro to Education3
SDV130Career Exploration1
EDU218Initial Field Experience2
SDV164Electronic Portfolio Development2
This program allows students to engage in experiential learning in the area of welding.
Course # Course Name Credits
WEL228Intro to Welding1
WEL244Gas Metal Arc Welding Short Circuit Transfer2
WEL245Gas Metal Arc Welding Spray Transfer2
WEL274Shielded Metal Arc Welding I3
WEL281Flux Cored Arc Welding - Gas Shielded2
WEL275Shielded Metal Arc Welding II3
WEL251Gas Tungsten Arc Welding - Carbon Steel2
WEL252Gas Tungsten Arc Welding - Aluminum1
WEL262Therman Cutting Proc. I2
WEL262Thermal Cutting Proc. II2