• DMACC Students Take First, Second and Third Place in Numerous Individual and Group Events

  • The DMACC PAS Chapter was the recipient of the 2024 Iowa PAS Premier Chapter Award

  • DMACC PAS Co-Advisor Andrea Rouse was named the recipient of the 2024 Iowa PAS Outstanding Advisor Award

MORAVIA, IOWA – The Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) chapter of the National Professional Agricultural Student (PAS) Organization placed in numerous events at the Iowa PAS State Leadership Conference. The event was held February 6-8 at Honey Creek Resort in Moravia, with 237 students, faculty and staff from 10 Iowa colleges and universities in attendance. Thirty-one DMACC students, representing the college’s agribusiness, horticulture, veterinary technician, and liberal arts programs, participated.

Throughout the conference, students competed in Career Program Area (CPA) events. PAS CPA events allow a member to enhance and improve their self-confidence, leadership, oral and written communications, organization, information gathering, goal setting, presentation, and time management. CPAs are also specific to students’ career areas of interest. Podium finishes for DMACC’s CPA entries included:

Floriculture Team – 2nd Place

Kelly Peterson (Altoona) – 3rd Place Individual, Floriculture

Poultry Team – 2nd Place

Sheep/Goat Team – 2nd Place

Soils Team – 3rd Place

Swine Team – 1st Place

Dakota Boline (Wapello) – 3rd Place Individual, Swine

Amanda Ostrem (Stanhope) – 2nd Place Individual, Swine

Jonah Schumacher (Pleasantville) – 1st Place Individual, Swine

McKenzie Ogden (Attica) – 1st Place Individual, Animal Health/Vet Tech

EmiLee Brown (Grant City, MO) – 3rd Place Individual, Ag Sales

Jacob Fuller (Osceola) – 1st Place Individual, Ag Sales

Amanda Ostrem (Stanhope) – 1st Place Individual, Ag Promotion and Marketing

Amanda Ostrem (Stanhope) – 1st Place Individual, Career Planning Ag Systems

Calla Langel (Le Mars) – 2nd Place Individual, Career Planning Plant Systems

Luke Van Essen (Pella) – 2nd Place Individual, Employment Interview Ag Power Systems

Alex Rouse (Nevada) – 2nd Place Individual, Employment Interview Livestock/Dairy Services

Jonah Schumacher (Pleasantville) – 2nd Place Individual Livestock/Dairy Production

Carson Kelderman (Tracy) – 1st Place, Prepared Speaking

DMACC students also competed in the agronomy, beef, college bowl, conservation & natural resources, dairy and ag education CPA events during the conference. Several individuals and teams have qualified for the national level where they will compete against PAS members from chapters throughout the United States in Springfield, Illinois.

The DMACC PAS Chapter was the recipient of the 2024 Iowa PAS Premier Chapter Award. The premier chapter award is given to one Iowa PAS chapter annually which leads the state in active membership, participation, events and quality of programming.

Andrea Rouse, DMACC PAS co-advisor, was the recipient of the 2024 Iowa PAS Outstanding Advisor Award. The outstanding advisor award is given to one Iowa PAS advisor annually who exhibits leadership, innovation and service to Iowa PAS and their local chapter.

Members Sam Roberts (’24 agribusiness, Marengo), Paige Roberts (’22 agribusiness), and Kylie Peck (non degree-seeking, ’23) retired from their year of service to Iowa PAS as state officers.

Two full-time DMACC agribusiness students, Ashlee Tomlinson (Norwalk) and EmiLee Brown (Grant City, MO), ran for state PAS officer positions. Kylie Peck and Paige Roberts also ran for re-election. Kylie Peck was elected as president, Paige Roberts was elected secretary, and Ashlee Tomlinson was elected a vice president for the year 2024-2025. DMACC alum Kaylee Young (agribusiness ’23) also ran and was elected to a vice president position.

While attending the conference, students also engaged with sponsoring industry partners, listened to guest speakers, and networked with their peers from other institutions.

The DMACC PAS chapter is led by student president Ashlee Tomlinson and faculty members Andrea Rouse and Emily Campbell, who serve as co-advisors. Veterinary technician program chair Dr. Amy Fertig and horticulture faculty member Christina Riessen also assist the chapter.

For more information, contact: Andrea Rouse, (515) 965-6866