Career Development

​Veterinary Technician Specialties are the next step to advance technicians in their career. Veterinary Technician Specialists are those technicians who excel at their professional discipline of special interest. Currently there are 15 areas of specialization:

  • Anesthesia and Pain Management
  • Behavior
  • Clinical Pathology
  • Clinical Practice
  • Dentistry
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency and Critical Care
  • Equine Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • Laboratory Animal Medicine
  • Nutrition
  • Ophthalmology
  • Physical Rehabilitation
  • Surgery
  • Zoological Medicine

In order to receive the VTS designation, the technician must go through a program that has been approved by the Committee for Veterinary Technician Specialties (CVTS). For additional information, visit