Three Boone Campus Students selected for NASA Scholars

NASA Selects Three Boone Campus Students for Scholars Program

Posted 5/31/2018

Three Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) Boone Campus students are going to NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) in June as part of the prestigious NASA Community College Aerospace Scholars (NCAS) Program.  

Nick Eslick of Dayton, Abigail Lee of Boone and Cavin Leeds of Stratford will travel to the Stennis Space Flight Center in Mississippi June 25-29. 

NCAS is a five-week online scholars program that culminates with a four-day on-site workshop at the Stennis Space Flight Center.  As part of the workshop, students form teams as fictional companies interested in Mars exploration.  Each team is responsible for developing and testing a prototype rover, forming a company infrastructure, managing a budget, and developing communications and outreach.  Students also have opportunities to interact with NASA engineers as they learn more about careers in science and engineering.  

The on-site experience at NASA includes a tour of facilities and briefings by NASA subject matter experts.  Eslick, Lee and Leeds were selected from a nationwide pool of community college students to participate in this year’s NCAS program.
The NASA National Community College Scholars Program encourages students to complete their degrees in STEM (science, technology, engineering or math) fields.

“Not only will this experience be an exceptional event for these students, but this honor will also open many scholarship opportunities for the students,” said Dr. Nancy Woods, DMACC Professor of Physics and Mathematics. “NCAS inspires community college students to advance in STEM fields.  It may also open doors for future careers at NASA.  NCAS has a legacy of helping students find their niche within the diverse NASA community and workforce. It’s rewarding to see students from a wide variety of backgrounds have this rare experience of participating at NASA in the NCAS program.    

NASA covers all travel expenses for the students selected for the program.

Return to News