DMACC Announces Small Business Award Winners

Posted 9/24/2015


Small Business Awards 

Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) 2015 Small Business Award winners are (left to right) Titan Immel of Aerofarming, LLC of Adair, DMACC Foundation $10,000 Entrepreneurship Competition winner; Patrick Murphy of Murphy Tower Service, LLC, Top Growth Company; Reggie Collette of Thombert, Inc., Small Business of the Year; event organizer and DMACC Entrepreneurship Program Chair Vada Grantham; Pete Ranallo, gourmet chef and owner of Ranallo's on Third, Dennis Albaugh Award; Jeremiah Terhawk of WebSpec Design, Young Entrepreneur of the Year; and Scott Yegge of 1Comm Medical, Inc., Most Innovative Company. 


Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) recently honored several businesses at its third annual DMACC Small Business Awards Ceremony.  The event was held inside the FFA Enrichment Center on the DMACC Ankeny campus.

"The night honored some of Iowa's most innovative entrepreneurs and successful small business owners," said DMACC Entrepreneurship Program Chair and event organizer Vada Grantham. "This has become a premier event, with great sponsors and excellent competition for the chance to be named a DMACC Small Business Award winner."

Winners are:

Most Innovative Company:

1Comm Medical, Inc. 1COMM Medical Inc. is a company devoted to providing physician and health care organizations turnkey solutions for medical device patient monitoring and billing services. They are located in Ankeny. [Video]

Young Entrepreneur of the Year:

Jeremiah Terhawk, owner of WebSpec Design.  WebSpec Design is a Des Moines-based company that provides web development, software development, custom designs for websites, marketing materials, SEO campaign management including Google AdWords management and content writing services to businesses around Des Moines and throughout Iowa. [Video]

Top Growth Company:

Murphy Tower Service, LLC.   Murphy Tower Service specializing in building and maintaining wireless and broadcast communications sites and develops, implements and maintains their customers' network infrastructure and provides network consulting. They are located in Carlisle. [Video]

Dennis Albaugh Award:

Pete Ranallo, owner of Ranallo's on 3rd. Ranallo's on 3rd is an Ankeny restaurant, catering and banquet business owned by former DMACC Iowa Culinary Institute graduate Pete Ranallo.  The award is named after DMACC graduate Dennis Albaugh, the founder of Albaugh Inc., a distributor of chemicals used for crop protection. [Video]

Small Business of the Year:

Thombert, Inc. Thombert, located in Newton and Brooklyn, IA, is one of the world's largest manufacturers of polyurethane wheels and tires for narrow aisle lift trucks. [Video]

The $10,000 DMACC Foundation Entrepreneurship Competition winner is:

Titan Immel, owner of Aerofarming, LLC of Adair.  Aerofarming, LLC is an agriculture field health prescription farming service that provides farmers with the most accurate date to this day with the use of drones. [Video]

"This business started with my passion for agriculture and the demand to keep up with the ever-changing technology," said Immel.  "Drones now have become the most needed agronomic tool in the farming industry as stated in the 2014 top five precision ag technologies."

This is the second year of the DMACC Foundation $10,000 Entrepreneurship Competition.  Grain bin rescue auger inventor John Ziebell, of JPZ Productions in Hubbard, was the 2014 winner.


A portion of the proceeds from the DMACC Small Business Awards Ceremony support scholarships for students enrolled in the DMACC Entrepreneurship Program.

The 2015 Entrepreneurship Program Scholarship recipient is Gina Greene of Des Moines. She received a $1,000 scholarship and has a 4.0 GPA.

The event was sponsored by Mediacom, The DMACC Foundation, Express Logistics, Business Record, Community State Bank, Keystone Electrical Manufacturing Co., Puck Customer Enterprises Inc., Architectural Arts, Uniquely Urbandale and American Solutions for Business.

Return to News