Congratulations to our 2015 Alumni Award Recipients!

2014 Alumni Awards

The DMACC Alumni Association presented awards to former DMACC students in a recent ceremony. Front row, left to right: Wayne Ellis, Outstanding Alumni Award; Dr. Shelly Schmit, Outstanding Alumni Award; Jeramy Bethards, Outstanding Alumni Award; Elaine Linderman Sima, Outstanding Alumni Award; Svitlana Miller, Alumni Early Achievement Award; and Keith Allen, Alumni Early Achievement Award; (back row, left to right) DMACC President Rob Denson; Kevin Terrell, Alumni Early Achievement Award; Gary Nystrom, Outstanding Alumni Award; David Williams, Alumni Early Achievement Award; Deb Odgaard, Outstanding Alumni Award and Kevin Gabbert, Outstanding Alumni Award.


Outstanding Alumni Award


The Outstanding Alumni Award is the highest honor given to DMACC alumni by the Alumni Association. This award honors and recognizes alumni who provide service to their community, country, and/or fellow citizen; have had great professional or personal achievement since graduation; and continue to be involved in the life and work of DMACC.

Jeramy Bethards
Store Manager and Assistant Vice President at Wells Fargo Bank-Beaverdale
Urbandale, IA


Wayne Ellis
Assistant Vice President of Principal Financial Group
Waukee, IA


Kevin Gabbert
Access to Recovery Project Director with the Iowa Department of Public Health
Johnston, IA


Gary Nystrom
President of Pritchard Brothers, Inc.
Boone, IA


Deborah Odgaard
Medical Assistant Program Chair, DMACC
Altoona, IA


Dr. Shelly Schmit
Vice President of Organizational Development and Human Resources, North Iowa Area Community College Mason City, IA


Elaine Linderman Sima
Principal of EL + A Equipment Planning, LLC
Glendale, AZ


DMACC Alumni Early Achievement Award


The DMACC Alumni Early Achievement Award was created to recognize alumni who have graduated from DMACC within the last ten years and have displayed exemplary personal or professional achievement or volunteer service to their community.


Keith Allen
Ames, IA


Svitlana Miller
Student Enrollment Specialist/Advisor at Buena Vista University
Newton, IA


Kevin Terrell
Executive Chef, Workiva, Inc.
Ames, IA


David Williams
Network Security Engineer for LightEdge Solutions
West Des Moines, IA




The DMACC Alumni Association is currently seeking nominations for the Outstanding Alumni Award, DMACC Alumni Early Achievement Award and the DMACC Impact Award. For more information and to learn of the criteria for each award, click on the award name above. The deadline to submit nominations for all three awards is Monday, January 23, 2017 (there will be no awards in 2016).


Past Recipients

For a listing of previous Outstanding Alumni Award recipients, click here.